CANADA chooses skilled immigrants as permanent residents based on their ability to settle in Canada and take part in their economy. The system to manage how people with skilled work experience apply to immigrate to Canada is called Express Entry.
If you create an Express Entry profile and you’re eligible, you will be put into the Express Entry pool of candidates who may be eligible to immigrate to Canada permanently. You must be eligible for one of the immigration programs under Express Entry to get into the pool. You get points based on the information in your profile, including your skills and experience.
Based on the information you put in your profile, you will be given a score and ranked against others in the pool.
The Canada Government issue invitations to top candidates from the pool so they can apply for permanent residence. To be chosen from the pool, you need to have one of the highest-ranking scores when we send out invitations. If you are invited, you can apply for permanent residence.
If you get an invitation to apply, you will be able to apply for permanent residence.
The Comprehensive Ranking System (CRS) is the points-based system used to assess and score your profile and rank you in the Express Entry pool.
The CRS gives you a score from your profile answers, including your:

  • Skills
  • Education
  • Language ability
  • Work experience
  • Other factors

The CRS also gives you points for:

  • Canadian degrees, diplomas or certificates
  • a valid job offer
  • a nomination from a province or territory
  • other factors

If you want to come to Canada as a skilled immigrant, your first step is to become a candidate in the Express Entry pool.
If you’re eligible to immigrate, we will:
• Place you in a pool with others who are also eligible and give you a score
• Rank you and the others using several factors
• If you’re a top candidate, you’ll be invited and you can apply for permanent residence.
Express Entry is not an immigration program in itself, but rather a system used by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) to select candidates for immigration to Canada using the following economic immigration programs:

  • Federal Skilled Worker Class
  • Federal Skilled Trades Class
  • Canadian Experience Class
  • A portion of Provincial nominee program

Under Provincial Nominee Program, each province is allowed to select or nominate immigrant who will potentially contribute to the particular labor and economic needs of that specific province. Each province may establish its own selection criteria and procedures to select such immigrants according to their ability to get integrated and successfully settled in that province.
At present the following provinces are participating in this program:

•  Alberta •  British Columbia
•  Manitoba •  New Brunswick
•  Newfoundland and Labrador •  Nova Scotia
•  Prince Edward Island •  Saskatchewan
•  Northwest Territories •  Ontario
•  Yukon   

Canadian Express Entry Program